Skip to main content
‚Äč

eBooks & Digital Audiobooks

Get closer to your favourite writers without leaving the house.

VPL to Go eBooks and Audiobooks

About the Collection

VPL to Go is a collection of thousands of popular fiction and non-fiction ebooks and audiobooks for adults, young adults, and children.  It is accessible directly through the VPL catalogue or through the dedicated VPL to Go interface. There is also a Teen Reading Room and a Kids Reading Room.

NEW! Want popular titles right now? Check out OverDrive's growing Express Collection of ebooks and eaudio. First come, first served access to our most popular digital titles. Borrow up to 2 Express titles at a time for a shortened loan period of 7 days. These copies don't accept holds. Currently checked out titles are hidden from view, so check here often to see which titles are available.

You need to be a resident of Vancouver to use this collection.

 

Getting Started

Our VPL to Go collection is provided by OverDrive. OverDrive has created a number of useful help pages. For help using our VPL to Go/OverDrive collection, take a look below for the appropriate instructions and links.

Access and functionality differs depending on the device you use. Some additional software may need to be downloaded and outside accounts created. Closely follow the given instructions.

 

What Devices Can You Use

Check to see what devices are compatible with OverDrive. This page not only tells you what devices are compatible but also how to use this collection with each device (and this includes the installation of relevant software and the creation of additional accounts).

 

Using a Desktop or Laptop

Find your operating system from the list of compatible devices. Follow the instructions to download and use the appropriate app. You can also use the collection directly through our VPL to Go interface and read or listen to titles in your browser while connected to the internet. There is also the OverDrive Reads option which stores ebooks in your browser for offline access.

 

Using a Mobile Device

To use this collection with a mobile device, download one of OverDrive’s apps. With an app you can borrow and download titles directly to your tablet or smartphone. OverDrive has created two different apps. See below for information on each.

 

Using the Libby app

If you are a new user, you may want to choose Libby. It has a user friendly interface that works very well with our Express Collection. Watch an instructional video or practice using Libby online to help you get the hang of it.

 

Using the OverDrive App

OverDrive’s original app. If you also use a Kobo, be sure to authenticate the app using your Adobe ID so you can read your ebooks on both devices.

 

Using Kobos

Check here for help with Kobos. Older kobos require some setup. To transfer titles to these devices you will need to create an Adobe ID and download Adobe Digital Editions on to a laptop or desktop. Newer kobos can directly connect to and download titles from your OverDrive account. This greatly simplifies access.

 

Other eReaders

Check here for instruction on other ereaders. Note that Sony ereaders are no longer supported and, in Canada, Kindles are not compatible.

 

Additional help with Ebooks

Check here for general help using this ebook collection. There are articles on everything from borrowing titles to placing holds, from creating a wishlist to changing the font size, from renewing a title to returning it early.

 

Additional help with Audiobooks

Check here for general help using the audiobook collection. There are articles on everything from borrowing titles to placing holds, from creating a wishlist to adjusting playback speed, from renewing a title to returning it early.

 

Troubleshooting

Unfortunately borrowing and downloading ebooks and audio is not always a seamless process. If you run into trouble, please take a look at OverDrive’s troubleshooting page. Select your device from the list, look for a description of your particular issue, and closely follow the instructions.