Skip to main content
‚Äč

Community Resources, Social Services & Nonprofit Sector (Vancouver)

This guide offers residents of Vancouver a community resource hub. How to get help and from whom, as well as how to start, run, and manage a nonprofit organization is included.

Indigenous Community Resources

This guide presents Vancouver community services by and for Indigenous Peoples.

Vancouver is located on the unceded homelands of the Musqueam, Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish) and Tsleil-Waututh Nations.

Organizations and Services in Vancouver

  • Aboriginal Front Door Society – From their website: “The Aboriginal Front Door Society is a culturally safe, peer designed non-judgemental place for Aboriginal Peoples and their friends and family in the Downtown East Side. We create hope and offer support through Aboriginal cultural traditions, caring and acceptance.”
  • Circle of Eagles Lodge Society – From their website: “The organization currently offers a variety of programming including men’s and women’s Community Residential Facilities (CRFs), a Pre-employment program, a yearly healing journey, and a youth cultural and life skills program.”
  • Vancouver Aboriginal Friendship Centre Society – From their website: “The Friendship Centre, a charitable organization provides programs in health, welfare, social services, human rights, culture, education, recreation and equality for all genders of aboriginal people of all age groups.”
  • ACCESS (Aboriginal Community Career Employment Services Society) – From their website: “ACCESS offers customized employment and training services designed specifically to provide members of the Lower Mainland urban Aboriginal community with the education and skills to compete equally and effectively in today’s job market.”
  • First Nations Employment Society – FNES provides employment programs and services for Aboriginal people.
  • Native Education College – From their website: “At Native Education College, we help Indigenous learners realize their potential in a supportive and cultural environment.”
  • Outreach Program (VSB) – Located on the Britannia Secondary School site, Outreach is an alternative program for students of Aboriginal heritage, who wish to improve their academic and social/emotional skills, prepare for post-secondary programs and complete courses leading to a B.C. Secondary School Graduation Certificate (Dogwood Certificate).
  • Aboriginal Patients’ Lodge – Owned and operated by Lu’ma Native Housing Society. In their highly recommended A Guide to Aboriginal Resources in Greater Vancouver, Lu’ma Native Housing Society describes the Aboriginal Patients’ Lodge: “provides culturally appropriate accommodations for patients and their families coming from towns and villages across BC to Vancouver for medical treatment.”
  • Aboriginal Wellness Program – Vancouver Coastal Health program “develops and delivers culturally safe mental wellness and addiction programs for First Nations and Aboriginal people residing within the Lower Mainland.”
  • First Nations Health Authority – From their website: “The FNHA is responsible for planning, management, service delivery and funding of health programs, in partnership with First Nations communities in BC.”
  • Lu’ma Medical Centre – From their website: “Our goal is to provide safe, culturally integrated primary health care that is accessible to families to increase positive health outcomes and remove disparities.”
  • Metro Vancouver Indigenous Services Society- From their website: "MVISS provides culturally diverse support services creating a safe & caring environment for people to connect with self and community by healing their trauma to achieve physical, mental, emotional & spiritual wellbeing grounded in Indigenous wisdom and resilience."
  • UNYA Native Youth Health & Wellness Centre – From their website: “Indigenous youth ages 12-24 years old can drop by the wellness centre to meet many of their holistic health and wellness needs.”
  • Vancouver Native Health Society – From their website: “VNHS was established in 1991 with a mission to improve and promote the health of individuals with a focus on the Aboriginal community residing in Greater Vancouver.”
  • Western Aboriginal Harm Reduction Society – From their website: WAHRS is an “organization of Indigenous people who are current and former users of illicit drugs and/or illicit alcohol. We live, work and play in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside.”
  • Aboriginal Shelter – Operated by VAFCS, the address is 201 Central Street which is close to Main Street Skytrain Station.
  • Lu’ma Native Housing Society – From their website, “The Society was initially incorporated to provide affordable housing to Aboriginal families and individuals with low to moderate income.”
  • Vancouver Native Housing Society – From their website: "VNHS’s mandate is to provide safe, secure and affordable housing. Although our original and ongoing mandate is to focus on the housing needs of the urban Aboriginal community we have expanded our operations to include housing solutions for seniors, youth, women at risk, persons living with mental illness and the homeless and homeless at risk populations.”
  • Aboriginal Legal Aid in BC – From their website, “Helping Aboriginal people across BC understand their legal rights.”
  • Indigenous Community Legal Clinic – From their website, “The Indigenous Community Legal Clinic exists for two purposes: first, to provide free legal services to the Indigenous community in the Downtown Eastside, and second, to provide legal education to Allard School of Law students.”
  • Native Courtworker and Counselling Association of British Columbia – From their website: “We are here as “A Helping Hand to Justice” for all Indigenous people across the province of British Columbia. Our mission is to provide culturally appropriate justice and health related services according to your need.”
  • Vancouver Aboriginal Transformative Services Society – From their website, “VATJSS is a non-profit agency that provides justice, homelessness and outreach prevention services to Aboriginal people within the Metro-Vancouver area. The justice service provides offenders and victims with satisfying and culturally appropriate alternative to the mainstream criminal justice system.”
  • First Voices – From their website, “FirstVoices is a suite of web-based tools and services designed to support Indigenous people engaged in language archiving, language teaching and culture revitalization.”
  • First Peoples' Language Map of B.C. – This interactive map indexes of all the languages, First Nations and Community Champions in BC.
  • Indian Residential School Survivors Society – From their website: “IRSSS provides essential services to residential school survivors, their families and to those dealing with intergenerational traumas.” They also operate a 24hr Crisis Line toll-free at 1.866.925.4419.
  • Aboriginal Youth Safehouse – Operated by UNYA, for 16-18 year-old youth in need of a safe place to stay.
  • Outreach Program – Located on the Britannia Secondary School site, Outreach is an alternative program for students of Aboriginal heritage, who wish to improve their academic and social/emotional skills, prepare for post-secondary programs and complete courses leading to a B.C. Secondary School Graduation Certificate (Dogwood Certificate).
  • UNYA Native Youth Health & Wellness Centre – From their website: “Indigenous youth ages 12-24 years old can drop by the wellness centre to meet many of their holistic health and wellness needs.”
  • UNYA Urban Native Youth Association – Offer many programs including Education & Training, Personal Support, Live-in Programs, and a Sports & Recreation Program.
Loading ...

Online Resource Guides