The Vancouver Public Library has extensive primary and secondary resources on the history of British Columbia. This guide is designed to help you begin your research on this topic and use library resources effectively.
This card index in Special Collection provides access to the Northwest History Collection, a heritage collection covering the early history and exploration of British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest.
The collection includes:
magazine and newspaper articles
chapters in books
many other resources
As of August 1998, no new material has been added to the Northwest History Index. It is continued by the British Columbia Index.
The Maritime Museum of BC represents a rich and vast link to the province’s legal and nautical roots. It is also home to three significant sailboats − Dorothy, Trekka and Tilikum − each with their own incredible story of adventure and enchantment.
More than 13,000 individual index records (as of 2004) on ships built on the Pacific Coast and ships with a connection to the Pacific Northwest. It includes the names and former names of vessels, their builders, careers and dispositions and more.
This portal provides anyone wishing to conduct first-hand shipwreck research at Library and Archives Canada, with information to assist them with the investigations into the photographic, cartographic and documentary evidence available at this institution.
The Vancouver Maritime Museum celebrates the profound significance of the ocean and waterways of the Pacific and Arctic, through the preservation and growth of our extraordinary collection, and as a centre for dialogue, research and experience.
The wreck of the Clipper Panther sits off the southernmost point of British Columbia's Wallace Island. The Clipper Reporter, shown above, was designed and built by the same ship builder, Paul Curtis, in the 1850's of similar size and shape.
The ship is one of the oldest and most important means of transportation. Every day, thousands of ships cross the oceans, sail along seacoasts, and travel on inland waterways. Trade and the economic health of the world's countries depend heavily on the shipping industry.
In addition to the select resources listed here, Level 4 of the Central Library houses the Ships File, a historic, card citation index of ship names.
Published since 1764 and widely recognised as the premier source of reference it provides information on the world fleet of all seagoing, self-propelled merchant ships of 100 GT and above. Each entry includes: current name and former names, ship identification numbers, ship types, cargo facilities, builder and date of build, owner and manager, tonnage and dimensions, call sign and official number.