Book Club sets A - BBook Club sets C - EBook Club sets F - GBook Club sets H - KBook Club sets L - MBook Club sets N - QBook Club sets R - SBook Club sets T - ZHow to Start and Run a Book Club
Books Just For YouGood GiftsVPL on Facebook
Ancient ClassicsFantasyGraphic NovelsHistorical FictionHorrorMysteryRomanceScience FictionThrillerWestern
This is the "Personalized Reading Recommendations" page of the "What Do I Read Next? " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

What Do I Read Next?  

Reading recommendations, discussions and more to help you discover what to read next.
Last Updated: Mar 22, 2017 URL: http://guides.vpl.ca/whatdoIreadnext Print Guide RSS Updates

Personalized Reading Recommendations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

 

 

Introduction

Personalized Reading Recommendations

Looking for something more specifically tailored to your unique reading tastes?  Let us help produce a personal reading list just for you.  This section includes various tools for book selection as well as booklists compiled by the Vancouver Public Library from which you can choose your next read.

Tools for Book Selection

Books Just For You

  • Need some help choosing your next book? Let the library staff create a personalized reading list at Books Just For You

Good Gifts

  • Looking for the perfect gift for the book lover on your list? Let us help you at Good GiftsVPL staff will recommend up to three fiction or biography titles for your family member or friend. 
      
     

    Booklists

    Books Just for You

    SEE COMPLETE LIST

    VPL Books Just For You - Speculative Science & Fiction

    What does the future hold for the human race? Studies of human psychology and behaviour, new theories about the evolution of the brain, as well as speculative fiction projecting a future based on nanotechnology offer intriguing visions of mankind's future.

    VPL Books Just For You - Great Reads for eBook Fans

    Modern classics suitable for a book club for you to enjoy in (mostly) ebook format

    VPL Books Just For You - Vonnegut and Borges Readalikes

    A list of books that will appeal to fans or Vonnegut and Borges.

    Books Just for You

    SEE COMPLETE LIST

    VPL Books Just For You - Speculative Science & Fiction

    What does the future hold for the human race? Studies of human psychology and behaviour, new theories about the evolution of the brain, as well as speculative fiction projecting a future based on nanotechnology offer intriguing visions of mankind's future.

    VPL Books Just For You - Great Reads for eBook Fans

    Modern classics suitable for a book club for you to enjoy in (mostly) ebook format

    VPL Books Just For You - Vonnegut and Borges Readalikes

    A list of books that will appeal to fans or Vonnegut and Borges.

    VPL Books Just for You - Mathy / Historical Audiobooks

    A list for a twitter user who enjoyed The Drunkards Walk by Leonard Mlodinow.

    VPL Books Just for You - For Fans of Pratchett, Necroscope, Coupland, and Dr. Who

    For Maeve Binchy Fans

    A list of books selected by VPL's Readers' Advisory team for readers who enjoy the fiction of Maeve Binchy.

    The Beach by Alex Garland Readalikes

    Fiction that will appeal to fans of Alex Gerard's The Beach.

    Glass Castle, Palahniuk, and Scar Tissue Readalikes

    A selected list of books for fans of The Glass Castle, Fight Club, and Scar Tissue.

    Fiction - December, 2014

    A selected list of books for fiction and short story fans.

    Quirky and Unconventional Mysteries

    A list selected by our Readers’ Advisory team for readers who enjoy unconventional and quirky mysteries.

    Literary, Character-Driven, Historical Fiction

    A list of books selectred by VPL’s Readers’ Advisory team featuring literary, character-driven historical fiction with complex plots.

    Action Packed YA Fiction

    This list of great and well-written young adult fiction with action-packed plots was selected by VPL’s Readers’ Advisory team.

    Social Justice and Social Commentary

    This list was selected  by VPL's Readers’ Advisory team to reflect a patron’s interest in fiction reflecting  social justice, memoirs, gendered experiences and humour

    The Broad View

    A list of old, new, and forthcoming fiction  in a wide variety of styles and genres selected by VPL's Readers’ Advisory team.

    The Hungry Tide - Reading the World

    This is a reading list for fans of Amitav Gosh's The Hungry Tide plus a selection of notable world literature title selected by VPL's Readers’ Advisory team.

    Crime Thriller Series and More

    A list of crime thriller series, award-winners, and chick lit recommendations selected for you by VPL's Readers' Advisory team.

    Science Fiction, Mysteries, Award-Winners

    A list of titles selected for you by VPL’s Readers’ Advisory team featuring dystopian science fiction novels, psychological mysteries, and award-winning titles.

    Eastern Religion, Philosophy, and Shamanism

    A recommended list of nonfiction titles selected by VPL's Readers’ Advisory team.

    Terminal Cancer, Women's Fiction, and Biographies

    A list of books on the journey and process of having terminal cancer from a woman’s point-of-view.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip